Skip to content

Loretta Lynn – Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ On Your Mind)

September 9, 2015

Welcome to September Songstress Spotlight!

For the month of September, when it comes to 1001 album reviews, it will be all ladies, all the time.

And speaking of ladies, I have the splendid Sarca @ caughtmegaming to thank for both this month’s logo & theme title.

Hope back to school day went well for everyone, enjoy the month!

.

September
(Lovely Logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming)

.

Songstress #1: Loretta Lynn

[Album 421/1001]

I really like old country.

There’s something about the harmonies, pedal steels, and saloon-style piano that just works for me.Loretta_Lynn-Don't_Come_Home_a_Drinkin'

I can’t comment on how Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ On Your Mind) works in other listening situations but it’s been a terrific quiet evening selection.

I also can’t see myself shortening Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ On Your Mind) to a more snappy acronym; it’s a contender for best chatty/dropped Gs album title on the 1001 list.

My LP isn’t in great shape but the continuous crackle somehow enhances more than it distracts.

Although I don’t demand songwriting from my singers, it’s nice to see when the singer is credited with writing or co-writing the strongest tracks as Loretta was here.

A strong start to the September Songstress Spotlight!

From → 1960s

29 Comments
  1. Love the logo and title, Sarca! Excellent selection out the gate, Geoff! Loretta Lynn was on my list of contenders for the Top 15 Albums of All Time.

  2. Happy you like the logo, Geoff, and the name! 🙂

    Loretta Lynn reminds me of my grandmother and how she enjoyed listening to Country and watching Hee Haw.

    • Love the name and logo!
      Those sort of personal family associations can definitely enhance albums for me, I feel that way with a lot of movies too

    • My Nana was all Conway Twitty and Charley Pride. I don’t recall the Hee Haw, but something tells me that I would remember it if it had been there.

  3. Hurrah! Loretta Lynn is really pretty awesome and it was nice to see the spotlight on her a few years ago thanks to yon Jack White. Great songwriter.

    I dare say you experienced this one the best way – I love some crackle with my old country sounds. Nice one.

    • Thanks J – I hadn’t realized Jack White had produced one of her recent records, I’ll have to check that out!

      • Van Lear Rose, Geoff. It’s a goody – wee bit more electric, but the songs and voice are very much intact.

      • Seconded on Van Lear Rose. We have it here and it’s fantastic!

  4. Funnily enough I was reading about this one this morning in my copy of 1001. As someone who tends to be quite amorous when I’ve returned home after a few, I’m not sure I approve of the sentiment behind the title track!

    • I loaned my physical copy of the 1001 book to a friend ages ago – thanks for the reminder to request it back, I enjoy reading those writeups. And laughed out loud as the kids say!

  5. This is fantastic, Geoff! Takes me way back. I dont’ know if this precise album was kicking around theie house, but I know I heard Loretta Lynn at my grandparent’s place.

    You should come hang out sometime, I’ve got lots of old country records with that satisfying crackle to them. 🙂

  6. Also, stupendous job on the logo, Sarca! All this and she knits, too! Damn, a talented lady for sure.

  7. I really like old country too. I might have to check this out.

  8. Grew Up watching Hee Haw! Every Saturday Night! Roy and Buck!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Neneh Cherry – Raw Like Sushi (1989) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Dusty Springfield – Dusty in Memphis (1969) | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Dolly Parton – Coat of Many Colors (1971) | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Le Tigre – Le Tigre (1999) | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Emmylou Harris – Red Dirt Girl (2000) | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Made in Canada | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

