Skip to content

Calling All Artists & List Enthusiasts!

September 4, 2015

Happy September to all,index

1. On September 15th, many bloggers in this community (myself included) are planning to post about their “Top 15 Albums.”

I love a good list, especially ones that could change by the hour.

So an open invite, the more posts the merrier: on Tuesday, September 15th, let’s write/read/talk Top 15s, looking forward to it!

.

2. Based on an early draft of my top 15, there will be a lot of dudes on those albums.

Looking back at my August blog archive, there were a lot of dudes on those albums.

So for September, time to mix it up a bit: for the next 2 fortnights, it will be all gals, all the time.

Or to borrow a Beastie Boys song name/shout out, Hey Ladies!

.

When I did my summer movie soundtrack series, I put together a quick theme logo in powerpoint, which I could easily do again here.

But I thought it would be fun to ask the blogosphere for help making a logo.

So here’s my pitch: if anyone’s up for designing a logo for this month’s series (something visual with relevant words like “September” and “Ladies”), I’d be eternally grateful!

As a token of my undying gratitude, I’d be thrilled to add a link to the visual artist’s blog with each post (what’s that old saying, hyperlinks are better than money?)

If that sounds remotely appealing, please send September Ladies logos to geoff DOT stephen AT gmail DOT com.

Happy logo-creating!

From → Uncategorized

41 Comments
  1. Wish I had the skillz 😦

  2. Way to go getting the word out about the 15th Geoff! I’m really hoping this is gonna be an epic turnout.

    Brace yourself for a lot of THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID in your September post comments. πŸ˜‰

    As for the logo, I’m with Mike. I ain’t gots da skillz. My kids ask me to draw things for them sometimes (Hey Dad! Draw me a fire truck!) and so I do, and when I hand it to them they say “Daaaaad, that doesn’t look at ALL like a fire truck!” If I can’t fool a 4 and a 6 year old, you don’t want anything I draw for your excellent site.

    • Consider me braced!
      Ahh but such lack of drawing skills could make for an interesting game – a) what does this look like? b) what was he trying to draw?!

    • And I can relate, I attempted to recreate ‘elmo’ for my 1-year old the other day, I think she only recognized it because the marker was red!

      • You should’ve seen the T-Rex I drew for my son. It looked really, really bad. My boy laughed and laughed and laughed…

      • So not a terribly ferocious t-rex then!

      • Nope. I think a better word would be ‘pathetic.’ He had a Quasimodo back hump, and the proportions were waaaaay off. My boy drew dinosaurs all over the rest of the sheet f paper and all of his were far superior to mine. He’s 6.

  3. Oh yeah, and as for the Top 15, reports from the front lines here indicate a losing battle. I am having so much trouble whittling it down. I’m gonna get to the 14th and just have to close my eyes and point at the list 15 times and go with those answers. And as soon as I post it, I’m gonna wanna change it.

    At this point, I don’t think 15 is a reasonable number. Now 115, I could deal with that better, maybe…

    • I’ve started to approach it from a line Sheryl Crow used to described Let It Bleed – “I’d save it from the fire”
      So if it was a case of scrambling to preserve 15 albums, these are the ones I’d frantically search for!

      • Hm. That might be a better approach, honestly. Although if there were a fire I wouldn’t be saving a g-damn thing except the people in the house, so that’d shorten the list! Ha.

        Sheryl Crow. Of course she’d say something like that about the Stones albums. She’s been ripping them off for years.

  4. I’ll read the lists with interest, Geoff. But probably won’t actively participate – just cannot conceive of a mere 15 albums. Now when you do the 1001 Favourites, do let me know. πŸ˜‰

  5. I can’t even draw a stick man properly! ….

  6. Only 15? Now that’s a challenge!

    • I thought it would be easier than a top 10 – but it’s harder!

      • This is even harder than I thought! I have six so far, and like, twenty-five maybes.

      • 6 out of 15’s at least 40% of the way there sourgirl!

      • I’ve been working on it. I’m up to 10 now. The last five will be very difficult to settle on!

      • Those were the tough ones for me too – Probably about another 15 or so deserved to be in those #11-15 spots!

  7. I’m doing a Top 15 something or other, but not my Top 15 LPs ever, not sure I can do that.

  8. ianbalentine permalink

    I accept! I’m working on my list now…

  9. Well, part of me has been looking for an excuse to do a fave albums list, so I think I will join you.

    I also find that most of my faves end up being male artists – and for good measure they’re all white too. I can’t help what I like, and I know its mostly about relatability. But as an egalitarian I also feel slightly embarrassed by it. I like your idea of devoting the time leading up to the list to balancing things out πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Andy, glad you’ll be joining in the Top 15 fun – I have a feeling we’ll have some overlap!

  10. My ‘top 15’ is done. I dare say we’ll all be having our own rule about what makes the list a ‘top 15’!

  11. 1. It took me a while but I’ve got my list! I’m trying not to look at it for fear that I’ll change it — again!

    2. Geoff, you read my mind! Kind of. I did up a Top 15 Ladies’ List and was going to suggest we all follow up with them. My original list is also dude-heavy and that couldn’t be avoided. I tried πŸ™‚

    3. Fortnights? I’m diggin’ it already.

  12. I am intrigued Sir Geoff – Logos, Ladies and Lists are my 3 fav “L” words. Just getting back to the blogging world so no promises —but I like the sound of all of this.

  13. I’m really excited for the 15th. We should do hashtags too. #top15onthe15th

    Hoping we will get participants throwing their hat in the ring from elsewhere too, not just WordPress.

    • YES!
      The hashtag idea is a grand one, if there are no objections, be it resolved that #top15onthe15th be the hashtag of choice!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. #top15onthe15th | The Audible Stew

Leave a Reply

