Skip to content

Top 5 Albums from ’66

April 13, 2015

When I see the number 66, I:
a) begin advising people (through song) to get their kicks on a major US interstate
b) think of Le Magnifique, Mario Lemieux, whose name fittingly translates to “the best”
c) realize we’ve reached the top year from my Top 5 duplicate digit years series.

Which means we’ve also arrived at my most controversial list in a while: attempting to highlight a mere 5 records from a, to borrow the Tori Amos song name, Pretty Good Year.

Hold all complaints/list of unforgivable omissions to the end.

For your convenience, I’ve prepared a form letter below to streamline the grievance process!

Form letter

.

5. Simon & Garfunkel, Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme
Delicious herbs, an equally appealing album.

4. The Kinks, Face to Face
The first of a quartet of Kinks records to grace the 1001 list.

3. Bob Dylan, Blonde on Blonde
Not his finest but that’s more of a relative criticism when compared to its 1965 predecessors.

2. The Beatles, Revolver
Tomorrow Never Knows was 30 years ahead of its time.

1. The Beach Boys, Pet Sounds
Will probably be review #996 or so/1001.

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. I Support Stephen1001’s 1966 List!

    • Blast – I forgot to make up a petition for supporting signatures to counter the complaint form letter, next time!

      • To quote my own catchphrase, “Oversight!”

        Seriously though I wouldn’t change a thing.

  2. Date: April 14, 2015

    Dear stephen1001,

    I am writing today with regard to your recent “Top 5 Albums from ’66” post.

    While I’d like to say I found the post whimsical yet relevant, I’m afraid today I cannot.

    How could you include The Beatles’ Revolver and not the Rolling Stones’ Aftermath?!

    Seriously? You chose Simon And (f-ing) Garfunkel over the Mothers Of Inventions’ Freak Out! ?!

    And that’s only the tip of the iceberg!

    What about John Mayall With Eric Clapton’s Blues Breakers? Or Otis Redding’s Complete And Unbelievable: The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul?

    Please consider revising the list to include these deserving records. Especially the Stones. I mean, really.

    Sincerely,

    A of the KMA

  3. Hackskeptic permalink

    Thanks for the template…

    Dear stephen1001,

    I am writing today with regard to your recent “Top 5 Albums from ’66” post.

    While I’d like to say I found the post whimsical yet relevant, I’m afraid today I cannot.

    How could you include The Beatles’ Revolver and not the Rolling Stones’ Aftermath?!

    Seriously? You chose The (f**king) Kinks over the The Byrds Fifth Dimension ?!

    And that’s only the tip of the iceberg!

    What about Mama’s & The Papa’s? Or Sam & Dave’s “Hold On, I’m Comin'”?

    Please consider revising the list to include these deserving records. Especially the Stones. I mean, really.

    Sincerely,

    a rather irate Mr Hackskeptic

    • Mamas & The Papas was new to me this year, may crack the top 5 in the future.
      Thanks Mr. Hackskeptic for keeping your ire within the requested framework!

    • I’m laughing cause I read “The fucking Kinks” with your avatar in mind.

      Surprisingly, I agree with all 5 albums, even if my order would probably differ. ‘Tomorrow Never Knows’ manages to somehow be both representative of its time and, as you say, ahead of it. ‘Parsley’ is my favourite Simon & Garfunkel album on some days. And ‘Pet Sounds’ we all know is pure perfection. Whattayear.

  4. Great list. Easily, 66 more could qualify.

  5. That’s a fine list. I can’t grumble with that.

    • Though I’d swap the Beatles for them Rolling Stones (never been much taken by the Beatles, y’see)

      • Interesting to hear J – Aftermath to me felt like the beginning of something quite promising (sort of like where I’d put the Beatles in ’63).
        But then after the Beatle peak (in my books) from 66-69, the stones took over with a stellar 69-72!

Leave a Reply

