Skip to content

The Clash – The Clash (1977)

March 22, 2015

[Album 386/1001]220px-The_Clash_UK

March Breaks are wonderful for hundreds of reasons.

Reason #386: I had the privilege of spending a lot of time enjoying music with my 11-month-old Daughter.

The 2 main musical selections in our listening/singing/choreography rotation this week?  The fairly traditional pairing of The Clash’s The Clash and The Wheels on the Bus.

There was a wonderful worlds-colliding moment during Clash City Rockers when the lads sang the lyric, “Shut your mouth.”

Upon hearing “shut,” my daughter started repeatedly doing the “open and shut” choreography for the doors on the titular bus.  We paused The Clash’s debut album shortly thereafter to belt out her favourite public transit tune, a Capella.

.

It’s neat watching an 11-month-old in action.

They can do a some basic things really well & they appear to have a bottomless supply of energy.  Of equal importance, anyone who spends time with them feels energized too & feels inspired to play along.  Observing their communication development, there are some hints of brilliance and you can tell they are full of potential.

But as much fun as this first year has been, it will be really interesting to see what happens over the next few years.

I have a feeling, they’ll use this positive first year experience to build towards something really special, outdoing their previous accomplishments in the process.  Maybe someday create some timeless moments, or even an iconic double LP.

Wait, we’re still talking about 11-month-olds, right?

From → 1970s

24 Comments
  1. Deke permalink

    Stephen enjoy your 11 month old! I have 3 daughters myself! My oldest is 17 and we have twins that just turned 16! Time flies and it seems like yesterday they were once 11 months old! Keep Cranking the Clash and Wheels On The Bus!
    Haha…

    • My thanks Deke – wow 3 girls less than 2 years apart! You’re absolutely right about time flying, our oldest is coming up on 5 in the summer, hard to believe!

  2. Sounds lovely and a good management of family time.
    When space allows, some quality Clash time with this remarkable debut will also reward (in a much less important way). (I’m assuming from the above that you are less familiar with the first album than the third).

    • That is true – I think what I appreciated about the 3rd so much was the collection of different sounds.
      This feels like Pablo Honey to me – the start of something really special, an important listen but fortunately, also a very good one!

  3. I’m love/hate with the Clash. I wanna rip my eyes out every time Rock the Casbah is on the radio. But this album, this one isn’t as overplayed and kicks so much tail.

    • YES – I initially approached London Calling with major trepidation (the rock stations at Western, as you can imagine, liked to play that one less than in moderation) – and was pleasantly surprised to be able to really enjoy the whole package.
      Should I stay is another one I feel I’ve heard a sufficient amount of times!

      • I have a crazy 3 CD edition of London Calling. Because it its length, I don’t spin it enough. But, that’s what I get for choosing the Deluxe.

      • Yeah 3 at once would be a bit overwhelming – just checked it out online, looks like an interesting collectible at least – have you reviewed it yet?

      • No I have not. One like that I would probably break into multiple parts, to be thorough. And to be honest sometimes the amount of sheer time I put into being thorough can put me off of attempting a review. Sometimes I am able to “giver” as our buddy Aaron would say. Sometimes I feel I need more time.

  4. Hahaha well played, that last paragraph…

    I am all for introducing kids to grown-up music. There is only so much toddler music the adults can stand! Besides, as parents, we’re modelling behaviour, and if they’re gonna survive in the real world, kids are gonna have to know the best tunes around.

    The Clash is good music for kids. And that record is a great one. I’m a fan! 🙂

    As a stay-at-home Dad, I know full well the joys of watching kids develop. I chose to stay home when our daughter turned 1 (our son was 3.5 at the time), after my lovely wife’s maternity leave ended. Now our girl is 3.5 and our boy turns 6 next month! The leaps and bounds they’ve made over these past couple of years has been absolutely boggling. I read somewhere that if humans could continue the exponential brain development and adaptation that we experience between birth and (around) 6 years old for the rest of our lives, our species would be waaaay further ahead than we are.

    And as you know, it is a BOATLOAD of work. People hear I’ve stayed home and they imagine I’ve just goofed off for the past two years. hahaha yeah right. Let them have their misconceptions. I know that the joy of being with them to see all of this happen, well, there is no other way to express it except that it is, hands-down, the greatest job in the world. I’ve been honoured to be a part of it!

    • Cheers to that Aaron!
      They’re lucky to have had you there for their journey – I remember seeing a post you had at one point, I think it was your daughter giving the \m/ while you were picking up your son from school perhaps, it’s important to start the music (and music sign language!) appreciation early!

  5. That review was just beautiful, man.

    • Thanks Ovidiu – I don’t know if her clapping open & shut counts as being “into the music” here – but when my older daughter started belting out Tin Soldier Man one day, that was definitely a proud parenting moment!

      • Do you fear one day she’ll feel the need to rebel against the music her parents like and that she grew up with? That usually happens…I know it happened to me, that’s why I was closed-minded about the 80’s for the longest time. At first I used to only listened to newer stuff and then only to older.

    • Rebelling against parents’ music, good point Ovidiu. I think that’s a rite of passage. I spent years no tlistening to the Beatles because I burned out on it as a kid, and I was hearing them on original 45s in a jukebox (couldn’tbe cooler). Ah well, I’m catching up a bit (in small doses now).

      But kids will indeed rebel. The only way I can see is to make it really tough for them to rebel – I like almost every kind of music, in varying amounts, so they’re gonna have to work pretty hard to find stuff that drives me nuts. Unless it’s whatever pop tart du jour is popular. Then yes, rebellion successful. But shhhh! Don’t tell THEM that! 😉

      • Ahh good points gentlemen – I’m now singing the eminem line, “kids feeling rebellious, embarrassed their parents still listen to Elvis!”
        I like your strategy Aaron of listening to just about everything – luckily with my 1001 project going for the first 6-10 years of their lives, they won’t be overexposed to any one artist in our house for a while!

  6. Hackskeptic permalink

    A warm welcome to you and your little princess from the most important band of my life. I felt they were “my” band when I was 12 and upwards and to this day I still get goose bumps when I hear their greatest single “Complete Control”. I agree with your summary…”The Clash” is like the lit touch paper before the inevitable explosion.

    • Complete Control feels like one of those essential tunes in the space/time continuum – without it, would groups like the Libertines have existed?

  7. Hackskeptic permalink

    Exactly!

  8. Great clash of The Clash and diaper rash! One I enjoyed with my kids (now grown, with kids of their own) was Jonathan Richman’s Rock & Roll with The Modern Lovers. It had “Wheels on the Bus,” plus some wacky Jonathan songs like “Ice Cream Man” and “Dodge Veg-O-Matic” that we sang and danced to. Worth hunting for!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Television – Marquee Moon (1977) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Top 5 “London” Songs | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

