Skip to content

Top 5 40-year old tunes

January 29, 2015

If you’re celebrating your 40th wedding anniversary this year, congrats!

To mark the occasion, according to wikipedia, this is your ruby anniversary.  A gladiolus would be the appropriate flower to give your spouse or considering you’re acknowledging 4 decades of marriage, I’d suggest splurging and making it gladioli.

Here are 5 of my favourite tunes that also happen to be celebrating their ruby anniversary:

.

5. Uncle Salty, Aerosmith
Now I wouldn’t necessarily suggest putting this on an anniversary mixtape.  Though many wince at the thought of Aerosmith’s mixtape-bound ballads of the 90s, few complain (and nor should they) about Toys in the Attic.  It Rocks.

.

4. Born to Run, Bruce Springsteen
Born to Run‘s title track is delightfully over the top.  This cover with 2 Springsteens might be even better.

.

3. Tangled Up In Blue, Bob Dylan
A friend of mine once said this would be his answer if someone put a gun to his head, demanding to know his favourite song.  Should I find myself in a similar situation with an inquisitive gunman, I don’t know if I’d be able to answer coherently, but hopefully saying the Blood on the Tracks opener would prevent the spilling of, well, the album name.

.

2. Kashmir, Led Zeppelin
When I polled the blogging world last year, Houses of the Holy was declared the finest LZ album (though curiously absent from the 1001 list).  Physical Graffiti ended up in the bronze medal position but its strongest track gets the upgrade to silver here.

.

1. ’39, Queen
Favourite track, from my favourite Queen record, named after one of my favourite movies.  And I’m working on a punchline about ’39 turning 40 this year, still a work in progress at time of clicking publish.

.

Inspired by the recent Internationally Significant, Semi-synchronized posts by Vinyl Connection & 1537, I’ve decided to venture back to ’75 as well.

David Bowie & Neil Young will make appearances over the next few days, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

21 Comments
  1. Always happy to hang out in the 70s! Either of Neil’s ’75 efforts are good choices while I remain fond of “Young Americans” (the album, not necessarily the population).
    Thanks for the pingback.

    • Thank you for inspiring a journey to the 70s! Tonight’s the Night is the one I’ve been enjoying this week

  2. Probably my favorite Zeppelin song. I enjoyed the post and grooved on the link. Thank you:)

  3. ’39 is currently my favorite Queen song and has held that title for about 5 years now. I respect Uncle Salty…but where is Rock and Roll all Nite?

    • What was it that Lois Griffin said, I want to rock and roll all nite…and have a wonderful time?

      • That is exactly what she said.

        According to Eddie Vedder on the Benaroya Hall CD (one of my Top Five of 2004 if you recall) Stone Gossard used to think it was “and part of every day”.

      • Brilliant – I think I laughed about it then & again now!

  4. Some great great tracks!

  5. Hard to fault anything in this list.

    Cool for me, this post, as I am currently living my 40th year.

  6. Great year for music! Any track from the Born to Run and Tonight’s the Night albums would qualify as the greatest for me. And Shine On You Crazy Diamond (I-V) might be Pink Floyd’s crowning achievement. And I’m a big fan of a good number of tracks from Venus and Mars as well.

  7. Some excellent choices, there. Particularly Tangled Up In Blue and Born To Run (as Ovidiu says, any track from Born To Run is worth a mention!). I’d maybe go with Bohemian Rhapsody just because it rocks and it always takes me right to a certain time and place. I’d likely have Neil Young & Crazy Horse’s Cortez The Killer and ZZ Top’s Blue Jean Blues in there, too.

    • And as a life-long Wayne’s World fan, Bohemian Rhapsody will always have a special place for me!

  8. 1, 2, 3, & 4 are all favorites. But I’d also go for “Bohemian Rhapsody.” “39” is a nice choice, though!

  9. Hi Geoff,
    I didn’t know there was a ruby anniversary–I like it!
    Born to Run and Kashmir are at the top of my list.

    • Both great tunes! And I’m fascinated by things like anniversary names, I’m excited for Canada to celebrate its sequicentennial in a couple years!

Leave a Reply

