Skip to content

Buck Owens and His Buckaroos – I’ve Got a Tiger By the Tail (1965)

January 18, 2015

[Album 367/1001]Ivegotatigerbythetail

Best backup band name?

Until recently, I might have given the award to “The News” as in The News, Huey Lewis and.

Well, I’m afraid I have some bad news for The News: “His Buckaroos” just bounced them to #2.

Not only is “Buckaroo” a playful extension of the lead singer’s name but for whatever reason, I strongly approve of the switch from “the” to the possessive pronoun “his” in Buck’s backup band title.

So even before listening to the album, Mr. Owens and his friends were off to a great start!

This could not be further from ‘new’ country; there’s plenty of fiddle, pedal steel, and song titles with dropped Gs.

And I could not be more pleased with the efficient & entertaining I’ve Got a Tiger By the Tail.

I think I enjoy this type of vintage country because I watched the film Necessary Roughness at such an impressionable age.  There’s a scene where Robert Loggia is driving up to Scott Bakula’s farm and the memorable/memorably-titled song, All My Ex’s Live in Texas, is playing on the radio.  Since then, I’ve had a soft spot for the genre.

Everything in moderation of course.  I’ve Got a Tiger By the Tail is the kind of record I like to throw on for a change of pace.

Finally, speaking of records, I was overjoyed to find a copy of this on vinyl.

You’ve heard of Cupface?  Without further adieu, I give you…Buckface!

P1100040
(with thanks to my photographer daughter!)

From → 1960s

20 Comments
  1. Buckface! Will that catch on! It sounds too similar to a rude word that I heard on a Jerky Boys album!

    Love Buck Owens though! I love that old country.

    367 albums! Man it seems a dent has been made!

    (Nice shirt!)

    • Haha, yeah it’s a bit close for comfort!
      And my thanks, that was an unintended bit of contrast with the old school country and early 2000s scrappiness.
      Fortunately still enjoying it at #367, the comments from you fine folks definitely help!

  2. Magic album this one. Great one to have on vinyl, too.

    • I made the mistake of not getting the LP for Marty Robbins’ ‘gunfighter ballads…’ when I first saw it (and then it was gone when I went back to the store). When I saw this one a few months later, I didn’t hesitate!

      • The Marty record would have been a rare treat. Fingers crossed you find that one again!

      • Pink cover and everything, rookie mistake, lesson learned!

  3. BUCKFAAAAACE!!!

  4. I’ve also been fond of the name Corb Lund And The Hurtin’ Albertans…

    • Hurtin’ Albertans would easily be top 5 material!

      • I’m also partial to the great band, wonderfully named Lavay Smith and Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers.

      • Thanks to last week’s Missy Elliott CD, I was introduced to the phrase ‘kill it with a skillet’ – I’d imagine Lavay & friends would do just that on stage!

  5. Nice find on vinyl! I grew up surrounded by that stuff, all the oldies. Total nostalgia trip for me. Cool beans!

  6. Great piece of music, start to finish. Really miss Buck Owens.

  7. Bahaha! Buckface…:)

  8. Never heard “Buckface before”. I have an uncle who, 40 years ago, said to me “Don’t you think that Buck Owens is the ugliest dude you’ve ever seen?”. To me, he will always be associated with Roy Clark. Yes, Hee-Haw. But Clark was also “Yesterday, when I was young”.

    Marty Robbins shows that Western is different than Country. Waltz time: “Out in the West Texas town of El Paso I fell in love with a Mexican girl”.

    • And you may never hear the term Buckface again!

      Marty’s on the list – and it’s the album with El Paso, I’ll look out for the western vs. country differences when I get to it

Leave a Reply

