Skip to content

Top 5 Palindromic Music Years

January 7, 2015

The flux capacitor is switched on, we’re off to the year 2002.

But before exploring early 21st century offerings by Beck & Missy Elliott, a celebration of the finest palindromic musical years.

It’s just under a century too early to tell but if the Rush album of the same name is any indication, 2112 will likely crack the list one day.

Until then, here are my current top 5, enjoy!

.

5. 1661
Forgetting that these palindromes happen once per century, compiling 5 was a harder task than I anticipated.  This week however, I did learn about metrical psalters & that Heinrich Schütz published a revised and enlarged version of Becker Psalter in 1661.  With an animated video produced for Youtube at some point between then and now.

.

4. 1771
If you recognize the name, String Quintet in E, Op. 11, No. 5 (G 275) by Luigi Boccherini, I’m impressed.  If you don’t recognize the music in the video, I’m somehow even more impressed.

.

3. 1881
Want to know what a Major 6th interval sounds like?  Think the two notes to start “My Bonnie.,.”  And thank you to the creator of the Youtube video above for visually demonstrating the jump from G to E.

.

2. 2002
Solid records by Wilco, The Vines, Norah Jones, Flaming Lips, Bruce Springsteen…not a bad year at all for music.

.

1. 1991
Of all my #1s, this should be among the least controversial.

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Credit where credit is due: you come up with original ideas for lists!

    I’ll go with 1991 as well. Actually I’ll go with 2112.

  2. I’m with Mike, this is a SUPER-COOL idea! I’ll need more deliberation before I choose the best one, of all those!

    Well done, sir!

    • My thanks Aaron – and I overlooked 1551 and all palindromes prior, there may be some hidden gems there!

  3. Also Geoff, did you get my email the other day?

  4. Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, one of my favorite albums ever. It’s what turned me on to 21st century music.

    • I had started to lose faith in ‘new’ music in the late 90s, early 2000s – I think 2002 was an important year for reminding me good new stuff was still possible.
      YHF I didn’t hear until later but I can find little fault with it!

  5. jprobichaud permalink

    I’m with you on 1991. An excellent year for music and I’m not even counting “Nevermind”.

    • I was about to start listing some of the ’91 albums until I realized there were just far too many to mention!

  6. My wife taught a couple members of The Coral.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 1991 “Rain” References | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

