Skip to content

me, weezer, and the space time continuum [2/5]

December 3, 2014

[Part 1/5]

[Part 2/5]

The decline (2003-2008)

The streak of exemplary B-sides continued sometime into the early 00s.  At some point post-Maladroit, the songs available for download from the weezer website dried up.  I remember the last batch being less than impressive; sadly I can’t recall a single tune apart from Yellow Camaro from that period, which may have been an ominous sign of things to come.

In what was arguably the TSN turning point of their career, weezer released Beverly Hills.  Much like its namesake TV show, some loved it, others found it puzzling to see 30+ year olds sounding like/acting as teenagers.

Good moments still existed on Make Believe (2005) and the ‘red’ album (2007).  On the latter, there were even a couple of exceptional tracks, notably the ridiculous/ridiculously excellent I am The Greatest Man That Ever Lived.  This was the era of a new, confident Rivers Cuomo, seemingly happy with himself and with his life.  Even if fans may have been pleased to see Rivers find love, many found it increasingly difficult to love his new music.  To put a Blue Rodeo line in the past tense, “the moments of magic were just too short. They were over before they began.”

P1090791

to be continued…

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. I rank “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived” as Weezer’s proudest accomplishment. That was really something. On the whole though the Red album wasn’t as consistent as Blue or Green.

    • It was a tricky album – inconsistent is a good way of putting it. The highs were high (I also really like Dreamin’) but then it was hit and miss, especially towards the end

  2. “The moments of magic were just too short. They were over before they began”. Yeah, I like this. Sums up the post-Pinkerton Weezer, methinks.

    • In the next phase of weezer, I struggled to find any magic whatsoever!
      The song I borrowed the line from, Til I am Myself again, is worth a listen however

  3. Marc Maron did a great interview with Rivers Cuomo which looks at the post-Pinkerton period in detail. It’s a great listen if you haven’t heard it already.

  4. I bought Beverley Hills on picture disc and hated it, I’m afraid.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. me, weezer, and the space time continuum [3/5] | 1001albumsin10years
  2. me, weezer, and the space time continuum [4/5] | 1001albumsin10years
  3. me, weezer, and the space time continuum [5/5] | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

