Skip to content

A Movember to Remember

December 1, 2014

December 1st: a date patient, supportive spouses of the world have been looking forward to for the last 30 days.

No mo’ movember!

It’s been a fun month; my self-esteem has been skyrocketing after being on the receiving end of such generous compliments as “yours looks especially bad.”  Though I graciously accepted this one favourable moustache review:

.

.

So while I’m shaving my entire visage for the first time in a month I’m also logging back into my wordpress account for the first time since Hallowe’en.

I believe Sarca posted a question a while back, could you cut yourself off from the internet for a year? I doubt I could but considering November is often a busy work month, I thought it might be an opportune time to take a break from my 1001 project.  While breaking, I thought I’d make it an interesting challenge: No blogging whatsoever for 30 days.

The good news: I missed reading & commenting on your posts and adding my own writing to the community conversation. Interesting to have done the break but much like Movember, very good to be done as well!

Coming up for me over the next few days:

A look back at my 3rd fiscal year of the 1001 albums project
Getting back to new reviews of old records
A disturbingly long post about my love/befuddled/love relationship with the band weezer

But first, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a couple fortnights of reading & commenting to catch up on, talk to you soon!

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Welcome back! You have been missed.

    Hard to argue with that reasoning for keeping the ‘stache, man.

    Could I cut off from the ‘Net for a year? That’s extreme, but I think it’d be like anything else – go for a week, then two, then three, and before you know it other things have grown into your life like a fungus and grown over the fungus of the internet. So… maybe? Good on you for going a month. Bet I could do it, for a month. I’ve got so much stuff going on around here I probably bloody should! Haha.

    Have fun catching up on your reading. You’re gonna have TONS!

    • My thanks KMA!

      I scrolled through the ‘reader’ for a bit on wordpress and stopped when I realized after several minutes I had only made it through a few days – ahh well, too much good reading is a nice problem to have!

      I remember you did the week-long web cut off in the summer, there’s something refreshing about that sort of tech shut off. I definitely found I was keen to get back to the blog part way through the month, I’d hear about a new album that came out and I’d think, oh I wonder if one of you guys has reviewed it yet.

      But I tried to remember Axl’s advice “all we need is just a little patience” – so I waited and now it’s catch up time!

  2. So happy to see you back! Your comments have been missed!
    You don’t have much from me – about 7 worth and one on its way in the coffers while we sleep. Aaron’s written a ton and well, Mike writes every day. Take your time and savor! 🙂

    • Merci Sarca – and that’s good advice, much like a proper cup of ‘fee, one shouldn’t rush, just savor indeed!

  3. Welcome back! Looking forward to seeing your posts up again.

  4. Welcome back my stylish friend!

    • haha, I edited the video clip down to 10 seconds, around the 30 second mark Holly also nodded Yes when my wife asked if the stache was ‘distinguished’ – stylish & distinguished, I’ll take it!

  5. And Holly is the cutest thing ever…but I think I’ve said that before.

    My husband participated in movember in 2011 and hasn’t shaved since. But, I quite like it.

    • Haha, perhaps unsurprisingly about Holly, I agree!

      Good for ‘hubs’! Does he still have just the stache?

      • Full ‘mo and beard! He’s a baldy too so it seems no one effs with him.

  6. Welcome back! I could never take a break from the internet completely. No way… I just enjoy it too much. Blogging is also a great hobby for me… though sometimes I just don’t read enough to stay caught up!

    • Thanks Angie!
      Agreed about the enjoyment – I find the odd break is nice too, to remind myself how much I miss it when I’m removed from the blog world!

Leave a Reply

