Skip to content

Top 5 “Y” Artists

October 28, 2014

If it seems like I’m posting more frequently than usual this week – there’s method behind the madness.  The vision is to wrap up the alphabet by Hallowe’en.

What better time for its penultimate letter!

.

5. Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Fever to Tell had its moments.

.

4. Yes
A more formal affirmative group name than the #5 band, owners of a trio of albums on the list.

.

3. Yoakam, Dwight
Instantly identifiable style & Buenos Noches was indeed bueno.

.

2. Young, Neil
He’s on the 1001 nine times in almost as many configurations (with/without Crazy Horse, with CSNY…) and his stock continues to rise in my books.

.

1. Yankovic, “Weird” Al
One video clip is insufficient, thrilled to see his commercial success in 2014!

Neil Young (sans Crazy Horse) is on the calendar for tomorrow, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

24 Comments
  1. Yankovich, hands down!

  2. I still listen to my copy of Bad Hair Day.

    • I foolishly never had that one but I have nothing but good things to say about Off the deep end & Alapalooza.
      I think Nevermind was one of my first cds, Weird Al’s similarly covered Off the deep end was one of the next few!

  3. Weird Al deserves all of the love in the world. Have seen him four times in my life and wouldn’t mind seeing him another.

    • Hear hear!
      I wonder how many people dismissed him as a ‘novelty’ act back in the day, 30+ years later he’s still going strong

  4. Heck yeah for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs!

  5. YES! (agree with all!)

    • My thanks Sarca!
      Are the votes counted yet in your neck of the woods? The Kingston election results are still being tabulated!

      • Nope. K and I are frustrated about this…Here Toronto had everything done in an hour. Stouffville has a tiny pop by comparison, and I can’t find any results. Typical. We probably have to wait until tomorrow.

      • We’re at 30/40 reporting but they also did online this year, no news as to what’s going on with those.
        I think I’ll have to call it a night though, see what the story is tomorrow!

  6. Make mine a Yankovic too, I used to like Yello too.

  7. jprobichaud permalink

    My ‘Y’s would definitely include Young Galaxy but your choices are all quite good too.

  8. Looking forward to Neil, another one of my favourites. Surprised to not see The Yardbirds here as they’re one of the ‘classic’ bands of the 60’s. I personally haven’t heard much from them, but surely they were an important and influential force.

    • They’ve got one on the list – I wouldn’t be surprised if they make the cut once I check that one out

  9. Pretty much Yes all the way for me. I loovveee Yes. Oh, and Y&T!

    • HMO – I thought of you when I made a Sloan reference in my 10cc review, I did my Canadian duty and met my quota for the day!
      Can you pick a favourite Yes album, or is that like asking a parent to pick a favourite child?

  10. I have to put in a good word for Susumu Yokota, a mastermind of electronic/ambient music.

Leave a Reply

