Skip to content

Top 5 “U” Artists

September 20, 2014

Not the strongest of letters.  Far from a dismal group of 5 however!

.

5. Urban, Keith
TV talent shows have a tendency to make me somewhat nauseous.  So don’t hold his foray into that dark area against him: the man can play.

.

4. Undertones, The
Another in the ‘new to me’ category, no shortage of energy.

.

3. Ugly Kid Joe
Want a higher placement on a Top 5 list than you may actually deserve?  Ensure your music is featured in Wayne’s World!

.

2. Uncle Tupelo
Regrettably, I’m not nearly as well versed in these lads as I am in Jeff Tweedy’s subsequent group, Wilco.  What I know by Uncle Tupelo, I like a lot; much like with the Top 5 “F”s, I’m confident in this extrapolation based on my limited sample size.

.

1. U2
I was a bigger fan up until university but I must say I’ve become less gaga for Bono & co. over the years.  There’s no debating the credentials though and even if I haven’t been enamored with some of their experiments (see: Pop), I applaud their willingness to try new things.

There are songs in their deep catalogue that I don’t think will ever wear thin (Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses, Stay), others where the magic has worn off somewhat.

Admittedly, I do find myself asking the same thing as the ever quotable Chuck Klosterman: “there is only one question about U2 that really matters, and I’m still trying to figure it out…is Bono for real, or is Bono full of ****?”

I can’t figure it out either, so I guess I’ll keep listening!

Perhaps my favourite U2 record and at least one other “U” review are on tap for this week, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

25 Comments
  1. jprobichaud permalink

    ‘U’ is definitely a tough letter. However, I’ve recently become enamoured with Unknown Mortal Orchestra. You should give them a try.

  2. UB40. UK. Univers Zero. Universal Congress Of. U.F.O.

  3. Are you an iTunes/iCloud user? Did you receive the free U2 malware recently?

    U is a tough one. Don’t think I can even manage five. U2, Ulver, Uriah Heep and UFO will have to suffice for me.

    • I haven’t checked iTunes since that software incident!
      Which I suppose confirms that my enthusiasm for them has faded a bit.
      I’m going to be in tough with the “X”s – at the moment I can’t even think of 5, let alone 5 I like!

      • I’m the same. I can think of some but I don’t have or listen to any Xs. How many are in the list?

      • X, X-Ray Spex (that’s commitment to the letter), and XTC has 2 – the only other one I could think of was the XX!

      • XTC and X-ray Spex were the only two I could even think of. Didn’t know there was an X or an XX!

  4. No, no, no, no, no, no…not Ugly Kid Joe. Oh no. Shame has been brought to the U section! I’m with HMO, give me UFO!

    • haha, not even the Wayne’s World association could save them!

      • Well, they didn’t make the soundtrack, just the movie, so I don’t think of them all that much with Wayne’s World. I considered them a bit too much of a jokey band.

      • fair enough – I liked their Cats in the cradle cover, the sitar-y intro especially.

  5. Undertones!! Undertones!!

    Or how about UFO?

  6. OOOO!!! A U2 album that starts with U? Could it be…could it be??? MY FAVOURITE U2 ALBUM??!! 😀

  7. Off the top of me head…

    – Univers Zero (dark, compelling, brilliant progressive music)
    – Ultravox (early stuff is good, singles OK)
    – UK (Jobson, Wetton, Bozzio)
    – Uriah Heep (soft spot for D&W and TMB)
    – Unthanks (classy contemporary folk)

    No problem with UB 40, Undertones (though pretty slim catalogue). Phil Upchurch excellent jazz-funk guitarist. Utopia (Todd R).

    Not such slim pickings, actually. No comment on the ones I loathe!

    • Not familiar with much beyond the names of some of those, but that’s half the reason why I do the lists, learning some new artists.
      I’m guessing I shouldn’t ask you what you thought of the recent Apple product launch!

  8. ianbalentine permalink

    Urge Overkill and Underworld, please.

    • Underworld has one on the list – I’m alas only familiar with the big 90s movie soundtrack hits from both groups. Both good tunes though!

      • ianbalentine permalink

        I think you’d like Enter The Dragon from Urge, and with a deluxe issue coming out in October, bows a foot time to listen to Dubnobasswithmyheadman, Underworld’s first and still best album.

  9. ianbalentine permalink

    I meant, “Now’s a good time”, not “bows a foot time”…jeeeeeeze….

Leave a Reply

