Skip to content

“Q”uiz – Results!

August 25, 2014

Last week I posted a “Q”uiz with the seemingly insurmountable challenge: without search engines/peeking at record collections, list as many “Q” artists as you can in 60 seconds.  That is, artists without the 5-letter sequence Q-U-E-E-N.

Colour me impressed.

I managed a meager 2: Quiet Riot and Finley Quaye.

Many of you wow-ed me by topping my score, others restored my faith in humanity by confessing the inadvertent counting of ineligible groups.

One blogger takes the cake with 7 – congrats to Bruce @ Vinylconnection!

His quick-recall artists:

Suzie Quatro
Michael Quatro
Quatermass
Quiet Sun
Quill
Quiet Riot
Ike Quebec
And of equal importance, the post-contest frustration upon realizing Quicksilver Messenger Service & Quintessence had been overlooked.
Thank you all for playing, Bruce you may begin collecting your prize of my eternal respect…now!
After reviewing the aforementioned Finley Quaye & the 1001-worthy but contest ineligble Queen, Queen Latifah, and QOTSA, I’m down to my last ‘Q’ artist from the book.  A review of Happy Trails is on tap for this week.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to see a man about a bucket of ice…
From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. My 4:
    Stacey Q
    Quiet Riot
    Quarterflash
    Quad City DJs
    (takes bow)

  2. My best guess was Q-Tip!

  3. Michael Murphy permalink

    Quincy Jones. That is all.

  4. I am humbled by the stephen1001 plaudits.
    Look forward to reading about Happy Trails.

  5. The only one I could think of in that 60 seconds was “Question Mark and the Mysterians”.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “X” Artists – Challenge! | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

