Skip to content

“Q” is for Quiz…

August 20, 2014

…that’s good enough for me!

There were a plethora of “P” artists but I had a bit of a quandary when I arrived at the “Q” artists.

So instead of me making a top 5, it’s time for a pop quiz!

If the quiz doesn’t go well, don’t be discouraged: I made the quiz and I only got a score of 2.  If someone hits the elusive score of 5, my eternal respect!

TheQ”uiz

The Rules (because what’s more fun than adhering to strict quiz policies):

1) No google searching/looking at computer playlists or personal record collections!

2) Set a timer for 60 seconds.  Start the timer once you finish reading all the instructions.

3) Make a list of all the artists you can think of beginning with the letter Q that DO NOT contain the 5-letter sequence Q-U-E-E-N.

Once the 60 seconds have expired, write down the number of artists you were able to recall (but not their names!) in the comments section.

Ready?

Your 60 seconds begin…now.

.

.

.

.

.

Thanks for playing!

From → Uncategorized

42 Comments
  1. What a fun idea! Interesting, with an underlay of a moral / ethical challenge.
    Anyway, I got 7 (excluding Queensryche).

  2. Just checked the Vinyl Connection catalogue and found 2 more (which of course don’t count) but one of the ones I missed was REALLY annoying!

    • Your diligence in keeping to the honour system is appreciated though – 7 is the score to beat so far!

  3. I got a 1, and I felt that one was pretty hard.

    • I realized most of the Q’s I have all have Queen somewhere in the name – I’m sure many more exist but I could only think of 2!

      • It is probably easier to think of these bands if you actually like them. Personally if I was trapped on a deserted island and I could only have 1 Queen album or all of the other albums from “Q” bands out there, then I would have a really hard time choosing which Queen album I would keep.

      • I’d have trouble leaving a night at the opera behind!

    • beat me by one!

      • Actually I’d like to hand myself in for including Queensryche. Sorry, I have bought shame upon my family.

      • I had to check where the umlaut was (alas it’s over the Y) – if it were over any of the first 5, I suppose it would have been eligible. You brought honour to your family by your admission though

  4. Shit, I could only get 4!

  5. Assuming Queensryche aren’t allowed I only managed 3. And I’ve now had a look online and find a couple of really irritating ones I should’ve remembered. Aarghh

  6. 2…but it’s 5 AM and I’m not juiced on coffee, so I might be back later today.

  7. jprobichaud permalink

    I got four. None of which I am really a huge fan of so that letter will likely be a busy when it comes to my mixed tape series.

    • I was thinking “P” may rack up a couple mix tapes, “Q” may be limited to a side at best!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Perhaps a cassette single. Remember those?

      • I certainly do! I remember going to Sam the Record Man in Toronto years ago and they had a promo, I think 10 for $10 so I scooped up a bunch of REM & The Cure singles.
        Even then I think they were obsolete as when I went to the cashier, he and his co-worker were astonished people were buying them – and it was still the 90s!

  8. 2, 3 if Quo, Status would count 😀 😀

  9. 1. It’s morning.

    • The day is young – as I said to Sarca, pre-coffee/too-early am scores don’t necessarily have to count!

  10. ianbalentine permalink

    Only 2: Queens Of The Stone Age, and just because I want to get a Canadian band in here, Quarterflash!

    • If it ends in a tie, it’s only patriotic to say tiebreaker goes to the list with more CanCon!

  11. I like QOTSA too much, so they are all I can think of … and of course do contain the word Q-U-E-E-N so they don’t even count.

  12. So there’s Quicksilver Messenger Service and Quicksilver Messenger Service and etc. etc. ….that’s all I got! Time’s up!

  13. I got nothin’. I could only think of Queens of the stone age, but of course that’s against the rules. Congrats to those who thought of a few!

    • I thought if I allowed ‘queen’ groups it would be too easy – I fear not allowing ‘queen’ groups may have pushed it too far the other way!

  14. To quote the Spoon song/EP… got nuffin’ (without breaking the rules).

    Also, I’ve finally made a blog! I’m working on a catalogue of Beatles things that I own which should be up soon.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Q”uiz – Results! | 1001albumsin10years
  2. “X” Artists – Challenge! | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

