Skip to content

33 1/3% Down + Top 5 “Moving” Songs

July 29, 2014

220px-Naked_Gun_3_posterThe milestone of 334/1001 albums complete can only be acknowledged one way: with a picture of Lt. Frank Drebin.

My family’s also moving this week, so a fitting time for another brief pause.

I’ll be back next week-ish, writing from some nice new digs, ready for another 667 records.

Until then, my Top 5 songs about Moving, enjoy!

.

5. Technotronic, Move This
Wayne @ The Cave had a nice post this week about a happy playlist.

This tune would make it onto mine.

Is it among the all-time greats, on par with A Day In The Life?  Does it really count as a ‘moving’ song?  It doesn’t matter as it’s one of those songs guaranteed to bring a smile.

.

4. The Beatles, She’s Leaving Home
Speaking of songs from Sgt. Pepper.  Not the happiest of moving songs I suppose…

.

3. Ja’net Dubois, Movin’ On Up
and at the other end of the spectrum!
.

2. Billy Joel, Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)
If that’s movin’ up then I’m movin’ out!  One of the many solid tunes from The Stranger.

.

1. Supergrass, Moving
Though I was pleased to see a couple Supergrass records on the 1001 (I Should Coco & In It For The Money), my two favourite stand-alone tunes, Mary & Moving, are both from the self-titled third album.

Two of the first three ain’t bad I guess – let me know what Moving tunes I missed, see you soon!

From → Uncategorized

27 Comments
  1. jprobichaud permalink

    “Movin’ on up” by Primal Scream was the first one to come to mind but the Supergrass one is a good one too. Good luck with the move. I hate moving.

    • Bah – I forgot screamadelica! Excellent call, I’m hoping you won’t be as careless & it will at least appear on a “P” mixtape?

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Primal Scream’s “Screamadelica” was one of favourite albums of the early 90s. I think they’ll definitely get a nod in my ‘P’ mixed tape. How did the move go?

      • Pretty smooth thanks – the only holdup was waiting for the key transfer but other than that, no complaints.
        That being said, hopefully it’s the last move for a couple decades!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Cheers to that!

  2. So glad that Supergrass made #1. That was going to be my suggestion when I saw the title of this post but hadn’t read it yet. Excellent choices. Can’t think of any others off the top of my head.

  3. Aerosmith “Movin’ Out” and GnR “Move to the City” both spring to mind for me.

  4. Very nice! That Technotronic classic has a chance to bump something off my happy list 🙂

  5. Splendid #1. As for other moving songs, Justin Townes Earle’s Movin on and My Morning Jacket’s Moving Away are grand. Oh, and Pete and the Pirates’ Moving …

  6. Hope you settle into the new abode 🙂

  7. I agree with Scott on the Aero-tune. In fact that’s in my top 5 Aero-tunes of all time.

  8. Have a good move! We’re still looking for a new place but I know it will have a man cave. Hope you do too!

  9. Great playlist! And I love Frank Drebin!
    Good luck with the move. Can’t imagine this is a pleasure trip with two young’uns in tow, but hopefully you gain more space or a cool man cave or nice views. 🙂

    • Love Police Squad!
      Thanks Sarca – the young’uns did well, I think Holly thoroughly approves of the new playroom in the basement. No man cave yet, but it looks like the record player will end up in the main room, taking advantage of the speakers the last owners built into the ceiling!

  10. ianbalentine permalink

    Have a good move, and very nice choices. Agree with Rich re: Supergrass at #1. Can’t think of a more under rated band from the ’90’s. They deserve far greater recognition than they get.

    • Thanks Ian – the move went well. And I’ve been listening to In it for the Money this week, can’t stop singing the opening track especially!

  11. 1/3 is a huge achievement on this huge list 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 “S” Artists | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

