Skip to content

Top 5 “K” Artists

June 28, 2014

If ‘J’ was the letter for Male Solo artists, there are a lot of A-OK ‘K’ ladies (Carole King, Chantal Kreviazuk, Alicia Keys…).

Alas, only one solo artist made the list this time as it also happens to be a good letter for groups!

.

5. Kings of Leon
The first two releases especially, Youth and Young Manhood and Aha Shake Heartbreak, are scrappy & satisfying.

.

4. Krall, Diana
A friend took me to see her at Massey Hall before I knew who she was.  I quickly became (and remain) a fan.

.

3. King Crimson
My appreciation for Robert Fripp’s guitar work seems to grow by the day.  I was 45 years late in discovering In the Court of the Crimson King but what a discovery!
.

2. Keane
As a guitar enthusiast, I was surprised how much I enjoyed a group whose distinguishing characteristic was the absence of a (first real) six-string!  Also surprising that they never quite achieved Coldplay-level success (at least in Canada).

.

1. The Kinks
Four of their albums made the 1001 (Face to Face, Something Else, Village Green & Arthur) and compelling arguments could be made that many others are also deserving.

See Kamertunes for a thorough (a thoroughly enjoyable) review of the full discography.

I’ve been listening to a bunch of non-1001 material recently so I may only get to one “K” this week, happy summer!

From → Uncategorized

30 Comments
  1. Great to see King Crimson there but where the hell are Kraftwerk?!

    • Mikey B – you’ll be pleased to hear Kraftwerk has 3 records on the 1001. You’ll be considerably less pleased to hear i haven’t heard any of them yet – so they may make a cameo on a revised list in a couple years once I’ve been educated!

  2. Those Kings of Leon albums are pretty much the only two I bother with. I’m only really beginning to get into King Crimson, but reckon In the Court of the Crimson King alone is enough to ensure their place here.

    Kris Kristofferson, Kinks, Kraftwerk and Kyuss would have a place in my own top 5.

    • Kyuss is one of those groups I’ve been meaning to explore – Josh Homme seems like someone who rarely misses

      • I’d encourage some Kyuss exploration. Some really great stuff there.

  3. Oh come on! You can’t put Kings of Leon (aka, one of my favorites) a little higher? For me at least? Eh, it’s fine!

    I do like you have King Crimson on here though. Back in my “druggie days”, they were a band I constantly listened to for many reasons. Got a couple of friends into them, too. Definitely something I put on my resume, even though it’s a meaningless achievement to some. Not to me though. I take honor in that.

    Anyway, nice list, as usual.

    • Thanks Dan – I’ll at least try to add more complimentary adjectives to describe Kings of Leon in the future!
      Just out of curiousity, what other groups are in the favourites pile – I remember you said you saw Pavement, and with that and Kings of Leon, that’s a good start!

      • Oh, the list goes on and on. I’m just saying though, for “S”, I hope that the Strokes are included. That’s all I’m saying, though…….

      • I wouldn’t be surprised to see them make an appearance! (Is this It is the only album on the 1001)

  4. Oh man. Kings of Leon, and not Kiss. 😦

    I do applaud the King Crimson!

  5. Nice choice with the Kinks, but I’m a bit surprised neither Kraftwerk or Kenny G were on your list

    • I always think of Wayne’s World 2 when I hear Kenny G (I think you’ll approve of Garth’s T-shirt)

      Once I hear more Kraftwerk, I wouldn’t be surprised to see them make a revised list – I’ve at least enjoyed Radio-Activity so far! 🙂

      • Haha, I love that movie (and of course, sweet Led Zeppelin shirt). As for Kraftwerk, I think you would really enjoy the albums Autobahn and The Man-Machine; they’re really catchy.

      • The good news is, those are both on the list (as is Trans-Europe Express) – if you feel inspired to review any of them, I’d be keen on reading!

      • I’m currently working on another review, but after that I would be glad to review one of them! 🙂

      • Excellent, I look forward to both!

  6. I have to listen to that King Crimson album some time. Keep hearing about it, usually when bands I like talk about how much it influenced them

    • It’s one that is worth hearing uninterrupted. I had it on in the car for a while and it just wasn’t working as well.

      If you have a block of 45 minutes at some point though, so varied and so good!

  7. Another fantastic list, I might of added King Curtis to the list.

    • My thanks – and I didn’t know that I knew King Curtis’s work, that’s an impressive CV, good choice!

  8. The Kinks are my favourite, I also love the best of King Crimson (when the jams did not get too directionless) and some of the most recent things Kanye West has been doing.

    • I think I had Kanye listed under West, Kanye so he may still surface when I get to the W’s. I’ve only heard (but liked) the College Dropout thus far.

      Are you getting close to the best album of 1970?

  9. My eclectic tastes thoroughly approve of Diane Krall back-to-back with Crimson’s “21st Century Schizoid Man”, how about Chantal Kreviazuk and KORN? Carol King and Killing Joke? Alicia Keys and King Cobb Steelie?

Leave a Reply

