Skip to content

Top 5 “C” Artists

May 1, 2014

The B’s are going to be tough to beat.

That being said, the Top 5 C’s aren’t too shabby either!

.

5. Coral, The
I had initially put Coldplay but then I thought, which CD would I rather listen to right now?  The Coral wins!

.

4. Counting Crows
August and Everything After was a surprising omission from the 1001 list.

.

3. Clash, The
London Calling wrapped up the 70s in fine form.

.

2. Cuddy, Jim
It was tough leaving Blue Rodeo out of the B’s.  Fortunately, Cuddy’s solo stuff is on par, and he’s back where he belongs in a Top 5.

.

1. Cure, The
Gushing to follow in album #309.

To celebrate the “C”s, reviews of Crowded House, Calexico, and Robert Smith & co. are on the calendar for this week, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

21 Comments
  1. jprobichaud permalink

    You’re absolutely right. There are plenty of great ‘C’ bands also. I could list a bunch but The Clash is a must for inclusion. Can’t wait to see which Cure album comes up. And Calexico too for that matter…

  2. Glad to see Cuddy here! I did not expect that. Love Jim, saw him on his solo tour.

    As for the rest — I hate them all 🙂 LOL I own some Clash but I am so sick of that band now that I don’t know if I will ever listen to the two albums I own, ever again.

    • haha – love JC!
      I thought of your Coldplay overexposure when I left them off the list.
      I had similar feelings about the Clash’s radio hits – but the album tracks were too strong to overlook!

      • The radio hits are killing it for me man. I don’t even know what I’m missing anymore. Maybe I’ll have to do a Clash review, just to challenge myself. I’ve been taking it too easy lately, too comfortable.

      • When I looked at London Calling – I was hesitant, as the title track was on that list of inescapable tunes.

        The rest of the album (a double LP at that) isn’t nearly as overplayed – no debating staying/going or rocking casbahs either!

      • God I’m sick of the Casbah song. You gotta let that raga drop!

  3. A difficult letter to do… my C list would be completely different! Um… off the top of my head – Alice Cooper, Cheap Trick, Candlemass, Carcass and Celtic Frost.

    • I wasn’t sure how to classify Cooper – is it Cooper, Alice like the person, or Alice Cooper as a proper band name?
      He’s definitely list-worthy though, one of the most articulate in the business!
      Cheap Trick’s Live At Budokan is on the 1001 list.

      • You’re right. Strictly speaking, it was a band name up until Welcome to My Nightmare so in theory that should be A but… I’d say he’s more known now as a solo guy and has been “solo” for the majority of his career so I just lump it all in together. Generally in music stores he’s sectioned in the C bit! A bit of an odd one though.

  4. Lol – I read Jim ‘Cuddly’ !

  5. London Calling, one of my favourite albums of all time! And good to see The Coral in there too! Didn’t know if they had a following in the State or not.

    And look forward to hearing your thoughts on Calexico as well, they are a superb band!

  6. Totally agree with The Cure and The Clash, of course. I think CCR could also be up there, and the great J.J. Cale!

  7. A fine handful of ‘C’s!

    Five essential ‘C’s at Vinyl Connection might include…

    Can
    Cobham, Billy
    Cocteau Twins
    Cosmic Rough Riders
    Creedence Clearwater Revival

    • My thanks! CCR & Cocteau Twins both make multiple appearances on the 1001, can’t say I’m familiar with the others. That’s half of my reason for making top 5s though, learning new artists!

Leave a Reply

