Skip to content

Before & After

April 7, 2014

Hello again world!

The Stephen family in March 2014:

family

.

The newest member of the gang, Rebecca, in April 2014:

Rebecca

.

Needless to say, we’re having lots of fun and less sleep!

The before & after title also applies to the 1001 albums project.

Up until album #300, I’ve been doing monthly themes.  For the next stretch, inspired by some of my fellow bloggers, I’m going to go week-by-week.  And for the next 26 or so, I’ll take it one letter at a time.

Thanks to the magic ‘sort’ feature of Excel, I was able to arrange all 1001 albums alphabetically (by artist name) and found the following distribution:

Letter # of albums % of list
0-9 5 0.5%
A 37 3.7%
B 99 9.9%
C 80 8.0%
D 63 6.3%
E 31 3.1%
F 32 3.2%
G 39 3.9%
H 28 2.8%
I 15 1.5%
J 34 3.4%
K 26 2.6%
L 32 3.2%
M 83 8.3%
N 26 2.6%
O 18 1.8%
P 56 5.6%
Q 7 0.7%
R 44 4.4%
S 119 11.9%
T 39 3.9%
U 9 0.9%
V 13 1.3%
W 40 4.0%
X 4 0.4%
Y 16 1.6%
Z 6 0.6%
Total 1001

I quickly became curious as to which letters would be in my Top 5 Artist Name Letters.  I’m thinking “B” “M” “P” “R” and “S” will be tough to beat but for fun I thought I’d spend a week with each letter and its respective artists.

I’ll begin with “A” (saving bands starting with ‘0-9’ for now) and a Top 5 “A”rtists – looking forward to hearing your agreements/disagreements as the alphabet goes along.

Thanks for all the best wishes, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. ianbalentine permalink

    Absolutely beautiful! Congratulations!

  2. Congrats, man!

  3. She is stunning, congrats on the new family member!

  4. Congratulations! Hope you are all doing well. Can’t wait for your new alphabet series. Great idea!

    • Much appreciated HMO, I hope you’ll approve of my #5 in tomorrow’s Top 5 ‘A’ artists, I’ve really been enjoying them lately!

  5. Yay! I wondered how you guys were making out! Congrats on the little one (cute!) and glad you’re back!

    • Thanks so much Sarca – it’s good to be back, looking forward to catching up on all the blogs in our network!

  6. Now I have a face to go with the name(s)! You young fella you.

    This’ll be fun, I enjoy your Top 5 posts.

    • haha, laughed at name(s)!

      I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those series that once the top 5 discussion starts, I’ll realize I’ve forgotten so many deserving groups – that’s half the fun though!

      • Arguably, the forgotten groups are the whole point of Top 5’s!

        High Fidelity (the book & movie) really mastered the art of the Top 5 list. Top 5 Side One, Track Ones. That’s hard core!

      • I think that’s where my affinity for top 5s originated – that list in particular was brilliant, as was Jack Black’s reaction of choosing side one, track one of a Beethoven symphony!

      • Oh I love that line! The 5th I believe it was!

        And then when he kicks off the mix tape with Walkin’ On Sunshine for a Monday morning. Brilliant.

      • I’ll be reviewing a Belle & Sebastien album soon – it’s going to take a lot of discipline not to reference HF ‘sad bastard’ music again, I already did it on the last one!

      • Oh do it again 🙂 Any good idea is worth repeating.

  7. what a lil’ pumpkin and a beautiful family!

  8. Many congratulations. Beautiful!

  9. Congratulations Stephen, she’s a little beaut! Welcome back to the world of blogging and music. good to have you back buddy!

    • Thanks Thomas – today I attempt to get caught up on what’s been going on over the past few weeks!

  10. Yeah congrats!!! So exciting!

Leave a Reply

