Skip to content

Top 5 Third Albums

March 22, 2014

Third time’s the charm!

For these artists, it really was.

My top 5:

.

5. Public Enemy – Fear of a Black Planet
My first non-Vanilla Ice/MC Hammer rap album will always have a special place.  Some prefer It takes a Nation of Millions… but I’d say this one is the career peak.

.

4. The Clash – London Calling
A stellar double LP, so varied, so very good.

.

3.Metallica – Master of Puppets
Perhaps the only record all Metallica fans can agree upon.

.

2. Nick Drake – Pink Moon
It would also tragically be his last.  It remains an exemplar on how to create a full sound with only vocals and an acoustic guitar.

.

1. Radiohead – OK Computer
It’s not as if its predecessor, The Bends, was merely so-so!  I anticipate this being album review #1000/1001 in a few years.

And at 300/1001 albums complete, it feels like an appropriate place to take a break.

I’ll be back in a few weeks with a new daughter, maybe running on less sleep, but ready to tackle the remaining 701 records.

The comments, as always, have been much appreciated & I’m looking forward to catching up on all of your blogs when I return.

See you soon!

From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. London Calling is one of my fave albums of all time for sure!

    Good luck with the new arrival Steven!

  2. Hmmmm!

    I look foward to your return, in the meantime I shall ponder third albums. I think I have to put Number of the Beast in there…Master of Reality…One Chord to Another…

    • YES for sure for One Chord To Another! Love mid-90s Sloan. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Number of the Beast, that’s on the list

      • Well Geoff it just so happens that I’ve reviewed all the Maiden albums. So when you get there, if you need some quick references before you write, don’t go to Wiki — come to me!

        (I’m proud to say that there may not be a more complete overview of the Maiden discography than on my site.)

      • This is very good information – there aren’t an overwhelming number of “i” artists so I’m planning on checking out at least one of the two maidens on the 1001 list (the self-titled one made the cut as well) when I get to that part of the alphabet!

      • Oooh I love the self titled one! Although I’m surprised it made the 1001, it’s a little bit lesser known. Hopefully you can get to them before the decade is out!

      • Still got until December 2021, I’m optimistic!

  3. Nice work-I did not get into any rap until GZA from Wu-tang grabbed me so that PE is before my time but like the rest….and good luck with the new arrival!

    • Thank you sir! Wu-Tang Clan has one on the list and there are a couple solo records from group members, I don’t think any of GZA’s were on there though

      • GZA flat out changed the way I viewed hip hop. I was in that group that had an opinion based on quick listens and preconceived ideas…..never a good thing.

  4. nicksalbumreviews permalink

    Public Enemy – yes
    The Clash – yes
    Metallica – yes
    Nick Drake – never heard
    Radiohead – yes

  5. ianbalentine permalink

    Excellent choices, and congrats on the new daughter! From a fellow Burlingtonian (Milton, technically, but who the hell’s gonna know that!), I want to say that I really enjoy your blog and look forward to your return, but I totally understand the need for a break.

    • A fellow Halton Region-er, nice! Thanks Ian, much appreciated – and I quite enjoy that there are still 366 more reasons the Eighties didn’t suck, looking forward to reading each of them!

  6. congrats on your baby girl!

  7. Fear of Music and Modern Vampires of the City would definitely be on my list of greatest third albums.

    • Fear of Music is on the 1001 – so I’ll be able to agree or disagree at some point soon! From the Vampire Weekend I’ve heard so far, I’ve definitely liked.

Leave a Reply

