Skip to content

Top 5 Songs with Female Names

March 10, 2014

I will be (temporarily) disappearing suddenly from the blogging world at some point over the next few weeks.

But it’s for a good cause as daughter #2 will be arriving!

My beautiful wife & I are now in the process of selecting a name for the newest member of the family.

The challenge:
a) find a name that hasn’t been claimed by a popular song.  I’d be very interested in seeing a graph of ‘girls named Roxanne before/after 1978.’
b) find a name that’s not trying too hard to be unique, like George’s baby name idea on Seinfeld.

As observed in this clip from Family Guy (at 0:37), at least part a) could be tricky!

Though it may be unimaginative to name a song after a girl, there have been some good ones over the years.

Here are 5 of the finest, enjoy!

.


5. Denise – Fountains of Wayne
Before Stacy’s Mom, there was this toe-tapper.

.

4. Maggie MayRod Stewart
12-string guitar, the definitive mandolin solo, how could it not be on the list?  I also like the tie-in that in the video for Stacy’s Mom, the title character was played by the (now former) Mrs. Rod Stewart, Rachel Hunter.

.

3. Julia – Our Lady Peace
If you combined the best songs from the first two Our Lady Peace albums (Naveed and Clumsy) into one record, you’d have an undisputed Canadian classic.  I enjoy how lead singer Raine Maida’s wife, Chantal Kreviazuk, also has a song named Julia.  Her song Wayne would also appear on a ‘Top 5 songs with male names.’

.

2. Wendy Under the Stars – Odds
I’m not always in favour of censorship but the clean version of this one is superior.

.

1. Victoria – The Kinks
I was chatting with thomasjford this morning about the brilliance of this group.  He welcomed a new baby girl to the world last month – I’ll get you to go to his site to find out the name & offer congratulations!  Victoria is a great song, from a great album, and if that wasn’t enough, the How I Met Your Mother reference whenever the character ‘Victoria’ appears should seal the deal.

From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. Aww congrats!

  2. A wonderful reason to be absent from our screens – best wishes to you all and we look forward to hearing the final decision on names. My middle name was after my grandmother – Georgina – when I was at school Georgie Girl – from the film was all the rage – except they called me Georgie Porgie!! See you back soon and take care.

  3. Hey congrats man, I didn’t know you were also expecting a baby girl soon! I hope it all goes well and you find a great name. Victoria, would indeed be very apt 😉

    Cheers for the shout out!

    • Thank you sir – and as for the shout out, to quote the Beatles from Hard Days Night, anytime at all!

  4. Congratulations! I have two daughters myself. I picked their names (Jayne and Alice) because I liked the novelty sound and I knew they wouldn’t be one of eighteen kids in their classes with the same name! Unfortunately, I am a die hard grunge fan and have been accused of name them after Jane’s Addiction and Alice in Chains:) Good luck with your naming!

    • Those are good, if unintentional, associations too! I hear you with the eighteen other kids dilemma – I was born around the time of Princess Diana’s wedding, I think there were many Dianas born that year!

  5. Congrats to you and your wife! Choosing a name is an important decision.

    • Thanks Sarca – I think we won’t know for sure until we meet her, definitely not a decision to take lightly!

      • Good call on Wendy Under the Stars, btw. The Odds’ Neopolitan album is great!

      • They’re one of those groups I always forget how much I like – I heard ‘truth untold’ the other day, I think that was on good weird feeling, great tune!

  6. Love Maggie May soooo much!! Plus I do love the song Angie.. but maybe I’m biased?

  7. I’m very happy for you, Geoff. Best of luck with your imminent arrival. As for your list, they’re all great choices. Off the top of my head I would also add “Peg” & “Josie” by Steely Dan, “Mary Anne” by Marshall Crenshaw, “Rosanna” & “Pamela” by Toto, “Michelle” & “Julia” by The Beatles, “Crosseyed Mary” by Jethro Tull, “Alison” & “Veronica” by Elvis Costello, “Guinnevere” by Crosby Stills Nash & Young. I’m sure there are others, but I also can’t argue with your choices, especially your #1 since I’m about to wrap up my 9-part series on The Kinks shortly.

    Best of luck to you & your family.

    • Much appreciated Rich!

      I’m pleased to see ‘Alison’ on the list – my wife & I just saw the wolf of wall street last night at an indie theatre in Kingston called “the screening room.”

      I knew it was my kind of place when the guy at the concession stand was playing full vinyls, with My Aim is True being in the rotation while we ordered our combo!

  8. Mymymymy my Sharona!

  9. Looking for a name for a girl?

    I have three boys and will probably have no more children, so I’ll let you have Katja Gudrun.

    My parents also had three boys. Had I been a girl, I would have been Karen Suzanne.

    • That’s funny,in our circle of friends, everyone seems to be having girls – 6 boys would be rare around here!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 Songs With Male Names | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

