Skip to content

Deee-Lite – World Clique (1990)

January 18, 2014

[Album 278/1001]Deee-Lite-World_Clique_(album_cover)

Some albums change the world.  Some albums get the world on the dance floor.

Deee-Lite’s World Clique is among the latter.

Almost a quarter century later, Groove is in the Heart remains a crowd-pleaser.  Catchy bassline, intriguing sing-along vocals, a winning track.

World Clique is not a record I see myself frequently revisiting from start-to-finish.  I’d probably put it on par with Queen Latifah’s All Hail the Queen: a fun blast from the past featuring a formidable front-woman.  It will bring a smile to my face every time I hear a song from either record find its way onto a radio playlist.

Much like Kate Bush’s Deeper Understanding, a 1989 song about the love between a human and computer, the opening lyric here was impressively prophetic about the decades that followed.  The line to kick off the Deee-Lite Theme: “From The Global Village in the Age of Communication.”

Though the psychedelic imagery of the album art/Groove video may have been a few decades behind the times, with that opening phrase, Lady Miss Kier sagely predicted the eventual worldwide movement towards globalization & social networking!

From → 1990s

8 Comments
  1. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to this album in full but “Groove is in the heart” still holds a special place in my dancing heart. One of the wickedest bass lines I’ve ever heard. “How do you say de-gorgeous!”

  2. lol, I dig this album so much; brings back memories! I got this on my iPod and is getting some rotation now on my commute into work.

    • Nothing wrong with that!

      This is one of those records that sounds like a time and place. For me it brings back memories of Technotronic, C & C Music Factory, early Fresh Prince of Belair and people talking about what things will be like in the 90s!

  3. cassetteman permalink

    Personal taste is a strange thing. I have to say that the song Groove is in the Heart is one on my most hated songs ever. To such an extent that I could never bring myself to listen to the album it comes from.

    • For sure – I find I’ll have identical musical reference points with someone and then they’ll start raving about a group like the Beegees. Many cite “Stayin’ Alive” as one of the great songs/basslines but I still struggle with it.

      Though I do appreciate it on at least one level now – the chorus is the rhythm you’re supposed to use when performing life-saving chest compressions!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Coral – The Coral (2002) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Blondie – Parallel Lines (1978) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

