Skip to content

2 years down, 737 albums and 8 years to go!

November 30, 2013

51DDGHXFAYL._SS500_

My second fiscal year has come to an end.  Fortunately, I’m still enjoying the project and I’m ahead of the self-imposed 100 albums/year pace!

The progress thus far:

Decade # of albums Completed so far Completed %
1950s 23 13 56.5%
1960s 151 40 26.5%
1970s 279 65 23.3%
1980s 210 47 22.4%
1990s 239 65 27.2%
2000s 99 34 34.3%
Total 1001 264 26.4%

As was the case last November 30th, the obligatory year in review highlights.

The Best Songs & Albums of Year 2:

1950s:
Album – Dave Brubeck Quartet, Time Out (1956)
Song – Frank Sinatra, I’ve Got You Under My Skin (1956)

1960s:
Album – Bob Dylan, Bringing it all Back Home (1965)
Song – The Kinks, Afternoon Tea (1967)

1970s:
Album – Elton John, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (1973)
Song – Stevie Wonder, Living for the City (1973)

1980s (excluding Strangeways):
Album – Beastie Boys, Paul’s Boutique (1989)
Song – Kate Bush, Love and Anger (1989)

1990s:
Album – Oasis, What’s the Story (Morning Glory)? (1995)
Song – G Love and Special Sauce, Shooting Hoops (1994)

2000s:
Album – Ryan Adams, Gold (2001)
Song – The White Stripes, We’re Going to be Friends (2001)

Thank you to all readers & commenters, I’ve quite enjoyed the discussions.

To begin Year 3/10, Album Art Appreciation, a look at records with instantly identifiable covers.

Enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Congrats on 2 years! What a monumental task you have set up for yourself. Hopefully one that has been and will continue to be rewarding to you.

    • Thanks Mike – so far so good in terms of being rewarding. I think there will be ups & downs (particularly around the 6-700 album mark) but because the list is so diverse, I can’t complain about a lack of musical options!

      • As long as it’s rewarding, I find that’s the most important thing. Sometimes I’ll just sit and enjoy the process of discovery…

        I look forward to years to come!

      • Absolutely – I think what I’ve enjoyed most so far is being proven wrong.

        Going into an album thinking, not sure if this is my kind of thing, and then being really impressed.

        Or the lightbulb moment where I finally ‘get’ an artist – ‘Oh so that’s why people like _______ so much!’

  2. Two years! Good job!
    I definitely look forward to your posts on identifiable album covers.

    • Thanks Sarca – as a *spoiler alert* – a few classic covers by Fleetwood Mac, The Clash, and Pet Shop Boys are up first!

  3. Well done on getting this far. Really enjoying your posts. Good luck for year 3, I’m looking forward to it!

  4. Two years!! Good job. It is hard to stay committed sometimes… but I love that you are doing this. What a great goal for a music lover!

  5. Congratulations on two years. I really enjoy your posts and look forward to more of them.

    • My thanks – there are still 5 more Beatles ones to go, though I should note I won’t be getting to Abbey Road/White Album for a while – trying to save my favourites until the end!

      • I’m not surprised there are that many Beatles albums on the list. Do they have the most of any band or artist?

      • I think it’s pretty close between them, Bob Dylan, and David Bowie – all have 7 or 8. Then there’s ones like Neil Young & Brian Eno who have solo + various group albums but for albums by one artist, I think it comes down to Beatles/Bowie/Dylan.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 357 down, 644 albums and 7 years to go! | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Best Albums/Songs of Year 5 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

