Skip to content

Tom Waits – Nighthawks at the Diner (1975)

August 16, 2013

[Album 226/1001]

3 for 1 Friday: 2 movies and a faux ‘live’ album.

1) So I Married an Axe Murderer (1993)
The first…non-SNL character based feature film for Mike Myers

The ensemble…backing band for Myers’ spoken verse creates an artificially great night club sound, even when outdoors

The funniest lines…are sometimes crude (the father) and sometimes clever (“hard-hearted harbinger of haggis”)

The midway through peak…can be placed somewhere around the line, “We have a piper down!”

The verdict…amusing, neat/original idea, doesn’t necessarily beg rewatching

 220px-Axemurderermovieposter

2) This is the End (2013)
The first…movie directed by Seth Rogen

The ensemble…cast is impressive, cameos abound with some of the more dramatic celebrity deaths in recent memory

The funniest lines…are sometimes crude (Michael Cera) and sometimes clever (“it’s not very compelling”)

The midway through peak…can be placed somewhere around the magazine scene

The verdict…amusing, neat/original idea, doesn’t necessarily beg rewatching

 This-is-the-End-Film-Poster

and finally…

3) Tom Waits – Nighthawks at the Diner (1975)
The first…”live” album by Tom Waits.  “Live” in that it’s actually in a studio with an audience

The ensemble…backing band complements Waits’ lounge delivery nicely

The funniest lines…are sometimes crude (“the crack of dawn better be careful around me”) and sometimes clever (“But I’ve always kinda been partial to calling myself up on the phone and asking myself out”)

The midway through peak…can also be placed somewhere around the “making a scene with a magazine” scene

The verdict…amusing, neat/original idea, doesn’t necessarily beg relistening

 220px-Nighthawks_At_The_Diner
From → 1970s

10 Comments
  1. I love So I Married An Axe Murderer, but can’t focus properly sometimes because of the scottish accent that he uses – it’s the same voice that he used in Shrek and I imagine that character intead.

    • absolutely – I remember seeing Shrek for the first time and thinking, this sounds awfully familiar!

  2. I’ve seen “So I Married An Axe Murderer” so many times I’ve actually lost count, so for me it does beg rewatching. Haven’t seen “This Is The End” so I have to reserve judgment, but I’ll definitely check it out when it’s free on cable (yep, I’m happy to wait another year). As for Waits’ “Nighthawks…”, here’s how I summarized it in my blog series on Waits’ catalog: “As a one-time performance piece this is an enjoyable record to listen to, but I didn’t get any more out of it after several listens. I certainly won’t be revisiting it as often as the first two albums.”

    I love the way you’ve tied the three reviews into a common format. Well done.

    • This is the end can wait not to worry – it was a perfectly diverting summer movie, but I wouldn’t say life-changing. I’ve found the local library is an excellent resource for when I’m looking to see something new but still meeting that very important ‘free’ criteria!
      Your summary certainly works for me – perhaps if I had been lucky enough to be in that studio audience, I might revisit it more as the years go on.

  3. LOVE Axe Murderer. I’d like to see This Is The End. Waits is always brilliant!

    • I just saw We are the Millers on the weekend (greatly exceeded my expectations,very funny) – it was nice to see a Tom Waits T-shirt play a role in the beginning of a romance.

      You folks have convinced me to watch Axe Murderer again. I think my problem is because of its early 90s release, I inevitably compare it to Wayne’s World I & II – and no movie should be subjected to such an unfair comparison!

      • I personally prefer to think of Axe Murderer as the REAL following to Wayne’s World! WW2 sucked.

      • To quote Campbell from WWI after the airplane flies overhead, do you kiss your mother with that mouth?!

        That’s surprising, but as long as WWI is still revered, all is still right with the world 🙂

      • You know what Stephen, I haven’t watched WW2 in close to 8 years. My wife bought me the set when we were dating. I remember seeing it in the theaters and thinking, “Eh? Jim Morrison? A naked Indian? What is this?”

        The problem of course is that the first one is so iconic to me and others. I saw it in theaters twice in 24 hours, then twice more!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tom Waits – Swordfishtrombones (1983) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

