Skip to content

Sam Cooke – Live at the Harlem Square Club (1963)

August 6, 2013

[Album 220/1001]Live_at_the_Harlem_Square_Club

If the true mark of a live recording leaves a listener saying “wish I was there,” this one delivers.

It’s a party from start to finish.

As a guitar player, I enjoy unconventional chord patterns.  This one rarely deviates from the basic four: I,IV,V,VI.  At first, I was slightly disappointed.  And then I realized, nothing quite gets a party going like a challenging song structure!

In this case, the predictability helps achieve the main goal: filling the dance floor.  With the audible audience reaction to upbeat tunes like Twistin’ the Night Away, it’s safe to say the crowd wasn’t just seated, politely applauding at the conclusion of each song.

The nine-song set is short & sweet, still sounding fresh 50 years after the show took place.  It continues to be in the rotation (well beyond the requisite listens) at home as an ideal meal prep soundtrack.

From → 1960s

11 Comments
  1. I love Sam Cooke. ‘Bring It On Home To Me’ is fabulous…

  2. Adding to “want” list.

    • It’s a keeper – no songs where the dancing audience would say “I’ll sit this one out”

  3. I occasionally remember that I need me some Sam Cooke, but fail to act immediately and then forget. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. starrynightiaa permalink

    Cupid is a fun song to play on the guitar; although I haven’t mastered it yet, it’s only four chords! Back tracking to his gospel days, I’d definitely recommend “Touch The Hem of His Garment.” I absolutely adore this album though! 🙂

    • It’s a fun rhythm in Cupid too – just listening to touch the hem, thanks for the recommendation,another nice tune!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. James Brown – Live at the Apollo (1963) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Van Morrison – It’s Too Late to Stop Now (1974) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

