Skip to content

Kanye West – The College Dropout (2004)

July 25, 2013

[Album 215/1001]Kanyewest_collegedropout

When helping friends move, I’m likely to hear, “Hey, you’re stronger than I thought.”  Before pointing toward any beaches, I quickly remember my hulking 149lb physique sets strength expectations microscopically low.

The College Dropout impressed me; still deciding whether it’s genuinely amazing or my expectations were amiss.  TBD after a few more listens.  Either way, not your average debut.

From → 2000s

5 Comments
  1. Not my cup of tea personally, but he sure did make his millions. Gold plated toilets, is what I read yesterday!

    • From what I gather, this is the record before his super-extravagance began. As a result, quite listen-able!

      The last song in particular (Last Call) is a 12+ minute autobiographical epic about trying to get credibility as a rapper (and not just as a producer).

      The themes of Jesus, apathy about education/post-grad career prospects were refreshingly different topics from his peers. Too bad once he got the credibility, he’s gone the route of wealth flaunting (toilets, I hadn’t heard that one)!

  2. Ughh.. I don’t want to like Kanye or should I say Yeesus or whatever he is calling himself now, but I do. I don’t want to like his music.. I DON”T! His lyrics are clever and smart, and catchy. Damn you Kanye for making good music!

    • When a good friend said he was listening to a lot of Kanye West, I though he was being ironic! College Dropout is the extent of my knowledge thus far, from what I’ve been told more recent ones (especially the latest) aren’t nearly as strong.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Brian Wilson – Smile (2004) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

