Skip to content

Fugees – The Score (1996)

July 8, 2013

[Album 210/1001]220px-Fugees_score

Impressively diverse name-checks abound: Stevie Wonder, Robert De Niro, even Sunglasses at Night!

While the bonus multiple Fu-Gee-La remixes are superfluous, the core album is superb.

Solid performances throughout, especially by Lauryn Hill.  Sadly, a lyric amendment is now required in Ready or Not: LH “be Nina Simone” when she sings but her tax returns be “imitating Al Capone.”

From → 1990s

7 Comments
  1. I love their version of “No Woman No Cry”. And I’ve always loved Lauryn Hill, even when she was an unknown in the Sister Act sequel.

  2. I just don’t love this group. Now Wyclef on his own=amazing!

    • Fair enough! I wasn’t a fan of killing me softly at all in ’96 but it’s grown on me. I do have a bad habit of singing wyclef’s ‘one time’ every time!

  3. Classic album, I started to listen to rap music in this year 😉

    • Agreed – admittedly I wasn’t a huge fan at the time but I’ve since converted – The score holds up really nicely!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Portishead – Dummy (1994) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

