Skip to content

Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (1995)

July 6, 2013

[Album 209/1001]220px-Smashing_Pumpkins_-_Mellon_Collie_And_The_Infinite_Sadness

An album that lends credence to my theory of 1995 being music’s finest hour.

Note the spectacularly unconventional opening title track; the rockers rock, the ballads are gorgeous, and Muzzle would be in my top 10 songs.

At 2+ hours, it tapers somewhat, but I admire the ambition.

A career peak & an essential double LP by any yardstick.

From → 1990s

13 Comments
  1. I’m not a huge SP fan really, but gotta say this album has three of their strongest songs -Butterfly Wings, 1979, and Tonight, Tonight.

    • All good choices, particularly tonight, tonight! They were an interesting group, I can see how people could find Billy Corgan’s voice irritating (from what I’ve heard, they were not a great live act). Siamese Dream is worth exploring as well.

      • All I know is their music was so overplayed on the radio, I was ready to “hang the DJ” if I heard one of their songs one more time…

      • Nice Smiths reference! I just had Zeppelin IV on today and a friend said classic rock radio has ruined a lot of those tunes for him. I guess the lesson is less radio, more full albums!

  2. I bought some of the Pumpkins’ reissues lately but they priced the reissue of this one out of my range. From memory, I’d echo Sarca’s selections but you’ve really put me in the mood to revisit this.

    • The years haven’t been terribly kind to Billy Corgan – so it was definitely fun for me to revisit his group in its prime. Disc one has a bigger (and I’d say better) sound but there’s still lots to enjoy on disc two, especially 33 and Thru the eyes of Ruby.

      • Billy Corgan is a funny one. He seems to be tough to get along with (judging by the constant lineup changes) but I remember, even though I wasn’t a fan at the time, enjoying interviews with him and articles about him in the 90s. He always seemed to have cool taste in music and interesting opinions.

  3. Definitely – I don’t think he’ll ever be accused of giving clichéd answers for interviews. I enjoyed reading Courtney Love’s quote about working with Corgan on Celebrity Skin. She compared him to “a math teacher who wouldn’t give you the answers but was making you solve the problems yourself.” As a math teacher myself, I approve!

  4. Apparently Corgan is a huge Rush fan and can play all of 2112!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory? (1995) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Top 5 Instrumentals | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Supergrass – I Should Coco (1995) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

