Skip to content

Paul Simon – Paul Simon (1972)

February 1, 2013

For the month of February, I briefly consider going Valentine’s Day-themed.  Remembering the myriad of ways I’m offended by most modern February 14th celebrations, I went the other way.

Instead of 2 becoming 1, thinking of others first, this month I’ll investigate a few eponymous records.

Welcome to self-titled February!

[Album 141/1001]

With 1001 records to absorb, inevitably some receive more air time than others.  220px-PaulSimon-Front

Perhaps the most accurate measure of the strength of an album from the list: the amount of times I go back to it, above and beyond the requisite listens.

Using that metric, this one’s right up there.

The standout side A & B openers (Mother and Child Reunion & Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard) hint at the world music sound he would further pursue with Graceland.

Love the flute on Duncan and Run That Body Down might be the track I look forward to the most whenever Paul Simon is in the rotation.

If you’re going to be part of a duo/group & split up, this is how to go solo.

From → 1970s

3 Comments
  1. First comment here; I just discovered this blog and am catching up. I recognize some other commentators here.

    I saw Paul Simon a year or 2 ago. I like S&G and was familiar with some of his solo stuff, but far from a fan. He played for over 3 hours, technically OK, enjoying himself, the crowd (mostly fans) liked it. I thought it was OK, but it didn’t bowl me over; I like the S&G stuff more. He only played one S&G song, The Sound of Silence, as an encore, and in the Paul Simon Songbook version. I know this wasn’t a S&G concert, but still: one song? McCartney does more than one Beatles number.

    I’m looking forward to watching the 2003 reunion concert on television tomorrow.

    • Agreed – I also prefer the S&G material. I remember hearing Noel Gallagher say that’s why Oasis stuff is played at his shows – most people don’t go to see McCartney hoping to hear just McCartney solo & Wings!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 “S” Artists | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

