Skip to content

Otis Redding – Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul (1965)

June 25, 2012

 [Album 65/1001]

As there are a lot of familiar songs on this one, let’s see how Otis’ versions stack up against the competition.  In the interest of brevity, I’ll focus on three of the most instantly recognizable.

1. Respect (Also performed by Aretha Franklin)
He wrote it – but The Queen of Soul trumps the King on this one.  Her R.E.S.P.E.C.T. spelling at the end clinches the victory.  World 1 – Otis 0

2. Satisfaction (Also performed by The Rolling Stones)
Though Mick & the lads were the composers, I’ll give the edge to Otis.  Another case of a strong vocal finish sealing the deal.  World 1 – Otis 1

3. My Girl (Also performed by The Temptations)
This one is too close to call.  There’s a certain charm with the ‘My girl, My girl, My girl’ back & forth in The Temptations’ version.  Though my decision could change daily, today I’ll vote for Otis.  World 1 – Otis 2

So not a clean sweep, but a victory nonetheless.  2 out of 3 ain’t bad as they/Meatloaf say(s).

Although he died in a plane crash in 1967, Redding remains an icon.  Look no further than the Jay Z/Kanye West collaboration, Otis, as evidence of his continued relevance.

From → 1960s

2 Comments
  1. The Gentleman Caller permalink

    1) My first visit to the blog was won over by the inclusion of a Metallica related venn diagram. 10 points.

    2) You finished 11/22/63. Yay. 10 points. We will discuss on Sunday.

    3) I like running to the Jay Z/Kanye Otis. It makes me think I should take a closer listen to the full Redding catalogue. 10 points.

    4) Lists are fun. See you Sunday. Running points total = 30 (I’ll plow through earlier entries another day…)

    • The lol shortform doesn’t cut it – chuckling out loud! There is much to discuss regarding Stephen King, I was a big fan – and I’m also quite partial to your username, ahead of its time!

Leave a Reply

